Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Alexander Zemlinsky - Der König Kandaules = King Candaules

Alexander Zemlinsky - Der König Kandaules = King Candaules album download

Alexander Zemlinsky - Der König Kandaules = King Candaules album download
Title: Der König Kandaules = King Candaules
Genre: Classical
Released: 1997
MP3 album szie: 1117 mb
FLAC album size: 1751 mb

Der König Kandaules (King Kandaules) is an opera in three acts by the Austrian composer Alexander von Zemlinsky. Its libretto was adapted by the composer from Franz Blei's German translation of the play Le roi Candaule by French author André Gide. Zemlinsky completed the short score of the opera in 1936, but the orchestration remained unfinished when the composer, due to his Jewish ancestry, fled the Nazis into exile in the United States in 1938.

When Alexander Zemlinsky died in New York in 1939, his opera Der König Kandaules remained unfinished. He had completed the short score in 1936, before he was forced to flee from Vienna, and when he arrived in the US, he hoped that the work would be put on at the Metropolitan Opera. That plan foundered because of the work's subject matter, deemed too risqué for the Met, and so Zemlinsky never orchestrated what he had composed. That task was completed many years later by the conductor and Zemlinsky biographer Antony Beaumont, and his score was first staged in Hamburg in 1996

Der König Kandaules poses fundamental questions about human life: when are we truly happy? Is happiness visible, or is it something more beneath the surface? And how far are we willing to go to achieve it? In a peek-a-boo game of concealment and disclosure, nakedness and masking, the quest for happiness ends in a deadly play for power. Human happiness between desire and deed

Like it does with so many mediocre artists, it took a tragedy to transform Alexander von Zemlinsky into a great artist. Before he was forced out of Europe by the rise of the National Socialists, Zemlinsky had almost succeeded in writing what might have been his greatest opera, a three-act setting of Andre Gide's Der König Kandaules. But the Anschulss drove Zemlinsky out of Vienna in 1938 and with Der König Kandaules still unfinished, he died a broken man in New York in 1942.

Alexander Zemlinsky's final and partly finished opera Der König Kandaules, based on Andre Gide's play, was composed in 1935-36 and completed by Anthony Beaumont in 1989. The work, involving voyeurism, betrayal, misuse of power and female vengeance, portrays the mighty but doomed King Kandaules, who loses both his wealth and his wife to Gyges, an uncouth but honest fisherman who exploits the powers of a magic ring. The opera is brought vividly to life in the critically acclaimed 2002 Salzburg Festival performance conducted by Kent Nagano with the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin.

Alexander Zemlinsky - Der König Kandaules King Candaules ‎(2xCD). Capriccio (2). 60 071-2. Richard Wagner - Der Ring Des Nibelungen: Zweiter Tag - Siegfried ‎(4xCD, Album).

Rock & POP. Organic & Electronic.

Alexander von Zemlinsky Composer. König Kandaules, opera Work. Hamburg State Philharmonic Orchestra Ensemble, Franz Grundheber Baritone, Gerd Albrecht Conductor. Hamburg State Philharmonic Orchestra. Zemlinsky: Der König Kandaules. Naxos featured album.


Erster Aufzug
1-1 Der Sein Glück Hält, Soll Sich Gut Verstecken 3:29
1. Szene
1-2 He, Gyges, Du Gehst? Bleib Doch Bei Uns 6:33
2. Szene
1-3 Ja, Kandaules Sagt Es. Die Königin Nyssia Wird Diesen Abend Das Fest Schmücken 5:34
3. Szene
1-4 Schlage Den Schleier Zurück. Alle Sind Meine Freunde 24:26
4. Szene
1-5 Also Du Bist Gyges ? 12:38
Zweiter Aufzug
2-1 Orchester 0:40
1. Szene
2-2 Nun Quält Mich Die Musik. Hört Auf! 21:39
2. Szene
2-3 Ich Wär' Schon Lang Bei Euch, Doch Glaubt Ich Euch Nicht Allein 13:48
Dritter Aufzug
2-4 Orchester 4:50
1. Szene
2-5 Hast Du Kaudaules Geseh'n, Philebos? 5:03
2. Szene
2-6 Mein Ring! Mein Ring! 4:59
3. Szene
2-7 Wie, Mein Gebieter, Das Ist Eure Sorge ? 7:24
4. Szene
2-8 Die Schönste Aller Nächte ... Genug! 16:43

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Delta Music GMBH
  • Pressed By – Sonopress – S-5576
  • Pressed By – Sonopress – S-5577


  • Composed By – Alexander Zemlinsky*
  • Conductor – Gerd Albrecht
  • Orchestra – Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg
  • Vocals [Archelaos] – Guido Jentjens
  • Vocals [Gyges] – Monte Pederson
  • Vocals [König Kaudaules] – James O'Neal
  • Vocals [Nicomedes] – Mariusz Kwiecien*
  • Vocals [Nyssia] – Nina Warren
  • Vocals [Pharnaces] – Kurt Gysen
  • Vocals [Phedros] – Klaus Häger
  • Vocals [Philebos] – Simon Yang
  • Vocals [Sebas] – Ferdinand Seiler
  • Vocals [Syphax] – Peter Galliard

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4 006408 600718
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 8748
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 1): SONOPRESS S-5576/ 60072 A
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 2): SONOPRESS S-5577/ 60072 A
  • Mastering SID Code (CD 1): IFPI L024
  • Mastering SID Code (CD 2): IFPI L022
  • Mould SID Code (CD 1, CD 2): IFPI 0730