Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Silje Nes - Opticks

Silje Nes - Opticks album download

Silje Nes - Opticks album download
Performer: Silje Nes
Title: Opticks
Country: UK
Genre: Electronic / Rock
Style:Downtempo, Indie Rock, Ethereal
MP3 album szie: 1414 mb
FLAC album size: 1400 mb

Silje Nes (born November 25, 1980 in Leikanger) is a Norwegian t, singer and sound artist. She has released two albums on British label Fat Cat Records. She released her first album, Ames Room, in December 2007. Nes' second album, Opticks, was released on September 12, 2010. Nes has a background as a classical pianist. On her albums she plays all instruments, arranges, and produces.

Opticks by Silje Nes, released 13 September 2010 1. The Grass Harp 2. Symmetry of Empty Space 3. Rewind 4. Silver Blue 5. The Card House 6. Levitation 7. The Shades 8. Crystals 9. Branches 10. Hello Luminanca 1. While once again mostly home-recorded, ‘Opticks’ (the title references Isaac Newton’s 1704 book about the science of optics and the refraction of light) has a far richer, fuller sound than its predecessor and is the result of a more focused approach. Starting from scratch with an end goal rather than being an collection of existing pieces with additions and reworkings (as on ‘Ames Room’), it was made with different equipment and in different surroundings. Created between autumn 2008 and winter 2009, the album was mixed with Tarwater’s Bernd Jestram.

Silje Nes is an uncovered gem of an artist that has been in hiding for much too long, and her latest release, Opticks brings some of the most tantalizing yet gentle folk music that you will hear this year. Silje Nes first came to attention with her debut LP Ames Room which was recorded solely in Nes’s bedroom. The simplicity of the composition with the added extra’s and flourishes added on the sides makes for a feast of an album. Opticks is a canvas that you lose yourself in as it swirls from simple folk to a tinged post rock sound that keeps you guessing of the songs direction, but not at its heart. Silje Nes has made a force to be reckoned with in Opticks and is sure to make herself a name that is on every underground music fans lips.

Silje Nes recorded Opticks in the same home studio in which she made the collection of demos that became her debut album Ames Room, but the Norwegian’s second album opens a new world of possibilities. Opticks manages to be more cohesive and polished, drawing on Nes’ growing experience as a composer and producer without sacrificing the delicacy that made Ames Room so charming.

Silje Nes ‎– Opticks. Label: FatCat Records ‎– FATSP20. Format: CD, Album, Promo. Performer, Vocals, Recorded By, Mixed By – Silje Nes. Recorded By – Bernd Jestram (tracks: 1, 6). Sampler – Mads Hatlevik (tracks: 8), Silje (tracks: 8). Viola – Nick Clifford (tracks: 1,5,8,11), Silje (tracks: 1,5,8,11). Written-By – Silje Nes (tracks: 1-3,5-11). Issued in card sleeve with stickered cover on the front and nothing on the back.

Machine Vision" - 4:37. Ultravioletfly" - 4:07. Salt of Stones" - 4:52

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Glass Harp 5:24
2 Symmetry Of Empty Space 4:04
3 Rewind 3:01
4 Silver > Blue
Written-By – Thurston Moore
5 The Card House 3:37
6 Levitation 6:10
7 The Shades 4:02
8 Crystals 3:47
9 Branches 4:02
10 Hello Luminance 2:42
11 Ruby Red 3:06


  • Glockenspiel, Drums – Ronald Lippok (tracks: 1, 6)
  • Mixed By – Bernd Jestram
  • Noises – Mads Hatlevik (tracks: 11), Silje* (tracks: 11)
  • Performer [Played], Vocals [Sung], Recorded By, Mixed By – Silje Nes
  • Recorded By – Bernd Jestram (tracks: 1, 6)
  • Sampler [Drums Sampled] – Mads Hatlevik (tracks: 8), Silje* (tracks: 8)
  • Viola – Nick Clifford (tracks: 1,5,8,11), Silje* (tracks: 1,5,8,11)
  • Written-By – Silje Nes (tracks: 1-3,5-11)


Issued in card sleeve with stickered cover on the front and nothing on the back.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
FAT-SP20 Silje Nes Opticks ‎(CD, Album) FatCat Records FAT-SP20 UK 2010
FAT-SP20P Silje Nes Opticks ‎(CDr, Album, Promo) FatCat Records FAT-SP20P UK 2010
FAT-SP20 Silje Nes Opticks ‎(CD-ROM, Album, Ltd, Num + CD-ROM, EP) FatCat Records FAT-SP20 US 2010