Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Mahler Arranged For Chamber Ensemble By Erwin Stein / Northern Sinfonia / Daniel Hellmann / Howard Griffiths - Symphony No.4

Mahler Arranged For Chamber Ensemble By Erwin Stein / Northern Sinfonia / Daniel Hellmann / Howard Griffiths - Symphony No.4 album download

Mahler Arranged For Chamber Ensemble By Erwin Stein / Northern Sinfonia / Daniel Hellmann / Howard Griffiths - Symphony No.4 album download
Performer: Mahler
Title: Symphony No.4
Genre: Classical
Released: 1999
MP3 album szie: 1513 mb
FLAC album size: 1688 mb

Arranged By – Erwin Stein. Composed By – Gustav Mahler. Conductor – Howard Griffiths. Ensemble – Northern Sinfonia. Soprano Vocals – Daniel Hellmann. World Premiere Recording".

Mahler: Symphony No. 4 - Arranged by Erwin Stein. So in the interest of finding a new angle on this amply recorded work, MDG offers an alternative: Erwin Stein 's chamber version in a charming performance by the Thomas Christian Ensemble, featuring radiant soprano Christiane Oelze. This is the fourth recording of this arrangement in as many years, and may be a sign of a glut to come; but until such time as Stein 's 1921 reduction for chamber orchestra wears out its welcome, this recording deserves to be heard, if only for its novelty.

Symphony No. 4 in G Major, (Arr. for Chamber Ensemble by Erwin Stein) : Symphony No. 4 in . .Various Artists - Topic.

The work was reconstructed from Erwin Stein’s notes in his score of the original symphony and his correspondence with Schoenberg. A tonally pleasing piece in itself, it also gives valuable insight into the compositional structure of the original and provides a creative contribution towards imagining the relationship between two highly important composers. After all, while the circle around Schoenberg truly venerated Gustav Mahler, he in turn took an active and certainly respectful interest in the new paths that Schoenberg had embarked upon. They are joined in the last movement of the Mahler symphony by Christiane Karg, singing of ‘heavenly joys. rtists. This dares to go further, to narrow the gap between the original and Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony.

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 4 (arranged by: Klaus Simon). This arrangement was made for a concert programme given by the Freiburg chamber orchestra Holst Sinfonietta in May 2007, which included works by Schönberg and Webern for chamber ensemble. For printing, I made some improvements and small changes to make a version which largely attempts to correct setbacks at the performances back then (especially problems of balance).

Album · 2006 · 4 Songs. Symphony No. 4 In G Major: II. Im Gemächlicher Bewegung. Douglas Boyd & Manchester Camerata. 3. 4 In G Major: III. Ruhevoll. 4 in G major by Gustav Mahler was written in 1899 and 1900, though it incorporates a song originally written in 1892. The song, "Das himmlische Leben", presents a child's vision of Heaven. It is sung by a soprano in the work's fourth and final movement.

Howard Griffiths was born in England and studied at the Royal College of Music in London. He has lived in Switzerland since 1981. Howard Griffiths was the Artistic Director of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra for ten years and has appeared as a guest conductor with many leading orchestras all over the world. Together with the Basle Symphony Orchestra, for example, he conducted Gustav Mahler’s Eighth Symphony – the Symphony of the Thousand – with more than one thousand performers. With the Zurich Chamber Orchestra (ZKO), Howard Griffiths realised successful crossover projects, such as with Giora Feidman, Roby Lakatos, Burhan Ocal or Abdullah Ibrahim. Howard Griffiths also enjoyed great success with the ZKO conducting the original music for films by Charles Chaplin, which accompanied the films projected onto the big screen.

Oppstandelsen; Resurrection Symphony; Symphony No. 2 in C Minor; Ylösnousemussinfonia; Gustav Mahlerin 2. sinfonia; Gustav Mahlerin sinfonia nro 2. Authorities. US premiere: 1908 December 8, New York City, Mahler conducting the New York Symphony Orchestra and the Oratorio Society of New York. Symphony N. in D major ("Titan").


Symphonie Nr. 4 G-Dur / Symphony No.4 In G Major / Symphonie No.4 En Sol Majeur
1 Bedächtig, Nicht Eilen 15:46
2 In Gemächlicher Bewegung - Ohne Hast 9:21
3 Ruhevoll 19:36
4 Sehr Behaglich (Gedicht Aus "Des Knaben Wunderhorn") 9:08

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – AVC Audio Video Communications AG


  • Arranged By [Arranged For Chamber Ensemble By] – Erwin Stein
  • Composed By – Gustav Mahler
  • Conductor – Howard Griffiths
  • Ensemble – Northern Sinfonia
  • Soprano Vocals [Soprano Soloist Of The Zurich Boys' Choir] – Daniel Hellmann


Standard jewel-case.

"World Premiere Recording"

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7619915015622
  • Label Code: LC 1122
  • Rights Society: DP
  • Rights Society: SUISA
  • Other (SPARS Code): DDD