Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Sonic-Youth - Bad Moon Rising

Sonic-Youth - Bad Moon Rising album download

Sonic-Youth - Bad Moon Rising album download
Performer: Sonic-Youth
Title: Bad Moon Rising
Country: UK & US
Genre: Rock
Style:Noise, Indie Rock
MP3 album szie: 1269 mb
FLAC album size: 1189 mb

Bad Moon Rising is the second studio album by American rock band Sonic Youth, released in March 1985 by Blast First and Homestead Records. The album is loosely themed around the dark side of America, including references to obsession, insanity, Charles Manson, heavy metal, Satanism, and early European settlers' encounters with Native Americans.

Bad Moon Rising is a pivotal album in Sonic Youth's catalog. It's the last to feature second drummer Bob Bert (Steve Shelley would take over from here) and the first to explore traditional song structures. The group's Glenn Branca–influenced No Wave origins can still be heard in the sturm und drang of the guitars through the droning "Society Is a Hole," but there's a sense that Sonic Youth is finding a new balance between instrumental experiments and songwriting ambitions

Sonic Youth followed their first full LP, Confusion Is Sex, with a pitch-black, punishing take on Americana titled after, of all things, a Creedence Clearwater Revival song. The newly reissued Bad Moon Rising is their most explicitly sexual album, and among their darkest, exploring the collision of America's obsession with death with the hopeful ecstasies of the hippie generation. On their first LP Confusion Is Sex, Kim Gordon, Thurston Moore, and Lee Ranaldo established their essed, acerbic, in thrall to subversion and half in love with nihilism.

Bad Moon Rising featured an appearance by Lydia Lunch on the album's single "Death Valley '69", inspired by the Charles Manson Family murders. In contrast to their abrasive, atonal material of the time, the band considered the song relatively conventional. In 1990, Sonic Youth released Goo, their first album for Geffen. The album featured the single "Kool Thing" on which Public Enemy's Chuck D made a guest appearance.

Band Name Sonic Youth. Album Name Bad Moon Rising. Data de lançamento Março 1985. Labels Homestead Records Blast First Records. Estilo de MúsicaExperimental Rock. Membros têm este álbum11. 2. Brave Men Run (in My Family). 3. Society Is a Hole.

Exclusive discount for Prime members. Sample this album Artist (Sample). As someone who worked their way backward (using cynicism!) through Sonic Youth's catalog from Goo, Bad Moon Rising listens like the bridge between the earlier Kill Yr. Idols-style no wave material and what I would call the "classic" period that birthed Evol, Sister, and Daydream Nation. This is the last full-length to feature Bob Bert, and the album listens like a more sinister antecedent to Evol. Nothing remotely pop here, although one can see whay Death Valley '69 was such a successful single.

Bad Moon Rising, 1985. Bad Moon Rising, 1985.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intro 1:11
2 Brave Men Run (In My Family) 3:37
3 Society Is A Hole 5:58
4 I Love Her All The Time 7:29
5 Ghost Bitch 5:41
6 I'm Insane 4:08
7 Justice Is Might 4:22
8 Death Valley '69
Featuring [W.] – Lydia Lunch
9 Satan Is Boring 5:06
10 Hallowe'en
Engineer – Ethan James
11 Flower
Engineer – Ethan James
12 Echo Canyon 1:09

Companies, etc.

  • Published By – Savage Conquest Music
  • Published By – Expressway to Yr. Skull
  • Recorded At – BC Studio
  • Mixed At – BC Studio
  • Recorded At – Radio Tokyo
  • Mixed At – Radio Tokyo
  • Pressed By – Technicolor – C1336


  • Engineer – Martin Bisi (tracks: 1 to 9, 12)
  • Musician [Sonic Youth] – Bob Bert, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo, Thurston Moore
  • Photography By – Amanda Linn, Carlos Van Hijfte, Jim Welling*, Jeff Cantor, Mrs. Moore, Naomi Petersen, Sonic Youth
  • Producer – John Erskine (tracks: 1 to 9, 12), Martin Bisi (tracks: 1 to 9, 12), Sonic Youth
  • Sequenced By [Help], Edited By [Help] – Don Walker
  • Words By, Music By – S.Y.*


Track 7 is listed as "Justic Is Might" on the rear track listing.
Tracks 9 to 12 do not appear on the LP version.
Tracks 10 and 11 from the Flower/Halloween single on Blast First (BFFP 03). The track listing incorrectly lists "Flower" as track 10 and "Hallowe'en" as 11, but the actual running order is the other way around.
Track 12 is listed on the cover but not on the rear track listing.

All songs recorded and mixed at Before Christ studios, Brooklyn, N.Y.C. between Sept and Dec. 1984, except Flower and Halloween, rec./mix at Radio Tokyo, Venice, California, January 1985.
All words + music - Savage Conquest/Expressway to Yr. Skull.

Sonic Youth credited as "The Band" for photography.

Packaging: Black tray jewel case with a 16-page booklet.

No durations are printed on the release.

"Satan Is Boring" does not appear as a negative time as on earlier CD pressings.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: none
  • Matrix / Runout: C1336 BFFP 1 CD 03
  • SPARS Code: AAD

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
BFFP 1, HMS 016 Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising ‎(LP, Album) Blast First, Homestead Records BFFP 1, HMS 016 UK & US 1985
Goo 018 Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising ‎(CD, Album, RE) Goofin' Records Goo 018 US 2015
ORG-042 Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising ‎(LP, Album, RE, RM, TP, 180) ORG Music ORG-042 US 2010
BFFP 1 CD Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising ‎(CD, Album) Blast First BFFP 1 CD UK 1986
GED 24512, 424 512-2 Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising ‎(CD, Album, RE) Geffen Records, Geffen Records GED 24512, 424 512-2 Europe Unknown