Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Gong - Magick Brother

Gong - Magick Brother album download

Gong - Magick Brother album download
Performer: Gong
Title: Magick Brother
Country: France
Genre: Rock
Style:Space Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Released: 1979
MP3 album szie: 1716 mb
FLAC album size: 1127 mb

Magick Brother is the debut studio album by the progressive rock band Gong, recorded in Paris during September and October 1969 and released in March 1970 on the French BYG Actuel label. The band's recently recruited bass player Christian Tritsch was not ready in time to play on the album, and so itarist Daevid Allen played the bass guitar himself; a photo of Allen recording bass tracks for the album is featured on the cover artwork.

Magick Brother ‎ (LP, Album, Promo, Gat). Gong Cos You Got Green Hair 5:07. Gong - Magick Brother (Full Album) 43:34. jmoortga, Internaut, caitlynmaire, vokuhila, brianvy, hixem, AndyWhelan, dimdamdoum, karlglogauer, MB-Daniel.

Magick Brother ‎(CD, Album, Unofficial). Gong is one of these bands, though in this case their first album remains, in my opinion, their best. Not the most accomplished musically certainly. Not the most developed, in particular in terms of the pot head pixie universe.

Isn't it amazing that the first seconds of the very first Gong album are a sound of an oriental-sounding gong? "Mystic Sister/Magick Brother" is somewhat of a display of magic that one is dealing with on the album, being a hippie folk ballad opened by spacey ambient guitar parts with whistling, bird-like wind instruments somewhere in the distant background. Glad To Say To Say" follows a rather simple psychedelic pop song pattern, featuring a catchy guitar riff and Daevid Allen's overdubbed vocals.

Tracklist: 1. Mystic Sister – Magick Brother, 2. Change The World, 3. Glad To Sad To Say, 4. Chainstore Chant – Pretty Miss Titty, 5. Fredfish – Hope You Feel OK, 6. Ego, 7. Gongsong, 8. Princess Dreaming, 9. 5 & 20 Schoolgirls, 10. Cos You Got Green Hair. 1. Mystic Sister – Magick Brother. 3. Glad To Sad To Say. 4. Chainstore Chant – Pretty Miss Titty. 5. Fredfish – Hope You Feel OK. 6. Ego.

Album Name Magick Brother. Labels Victor Entertainment. Music StyleProgressive Rock. Members owning this album1. Rational Anthem.

Leaning a little toward the pop end of the spectrum, Magick Brother is a fairly light album, devoid of the blatant psychedelic/hippie qualities which shine through so brilliantly on the later Camembert Electrique. Smyth's "space whispering" makes its debut on the opening track, though the album is not as spacy as it is ethereal. Gong Song" is a highlight, with lyrics describing a pothead pixie who came down from the planet Gong to sing his green song - the roots of the Gong myth.

Mystic Sister/Magick Brother" begins the album and immediately shows what this band would go on to accomplish for the better part of the next decade. Pure psychedelic madness. Early Pink Floyd fans would eat this stuff up BIG time I believe. However, some have claimed that 'Camembert Electrique' was Gong's very first album, but it came out in 1971, I believe. It appears that 'Magick Brother' was recorded by pretty much a duo made up of Daevid Allen and Gilli Smyth. This CD may be more primitive and a tad more folk than other Gong releases, but it's still top rate.


Early Morning Side
A1 Mystic Sister: Magick Brother 6:16
A2 Glad To Sad To Say 2:55
A3 Rational Anthem 4:10
A4 Chainstone Chant: Pretty Miss Titty 5:19
A5 Fable Of A Fredfish: Hope You Feel OK 3:99
Late Night Side
B1 Ego 3:54
B2 Gongsong 3:48
B3 Princess Dreaming 3:52
B4 5 & 20 Schoolgirls 4:30
B5 Cos You Got Green Hair 5:02

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Auvi, S.A.
  • Pressed By – Sonic, S.A.
  • Printed By – I.G. El Siglo XX, S.A.


  • Contrabass – Dieter Gewissler (tracks: A1, B2), Earl Freeman (tracks: B1)
  • Drums – Rachid Houari
  • Flute, Soprano Saxophone – Didier Malherbe
  • Guitar, Bass Guitar, Vocals – Daevid Allen
  • Piano – Burton Greene (tracks: B1), Earl Freeman (tracks: B2)
  • Producer – Pierre Lattes*
  • Recorded By – Dominique Blanc Francard*
  • Vocals [Spacewhisper] – Gilli Smyth
  • Voice – Tasmin Smyth (tracks: A1, B3)
  • Written-By – Gilli Smyth


This LP was recorded by Dominique Blanc Francard in September 69 on a 3 track movie camera
B4 written "Five & Twenty Schoolgirls" on back cover, and "5 & 20 Schoolgirls" on label.

Distribuido por Avui S.A. (Miembro de APYMEF)
Rda. Gral. Mitre, 233. Barcelona (España)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A - Machine Stamped): 77-AF-3 A⋄
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B - Machine Stamped): 77-AF-3 B⋄
  • Rights Society: S.G.A.E.
  • Depósito Legal: B.5.097-1979
  • Other (Impuesto de Lujo a Metalico): Permiso Num. 7053

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
529.305 Gong Magick Brother ‎(LP, Album, Gat) BYG Records 529.305 France 1969
BYG-5 Gong Magick Brother ‎(LP, Album, Promo, Gat) BYG Records BYG-5 Japan 1970
YX 6054 Gong Magick Brother ‎(LP, Album, RE, Gat) BYG Records YX 6054 Japan 1973
14812, CD 14812 Gong Magick Brother ‎(CD, Album, RE, Dig) Spalax, Spalax 14812, CD 14812 France 1994
BYG-5 Gong Magick Brother ‎(LP, Album, Gat) BYG Records BYG-5 Japan 1970