Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Steve Hackett - The Tokyo Tapes

Steve Hackett - The Tokyo Tapes album download

Steve Hackett - The Tokyo Tapes album download
Performer: Steve Hackett
Title: The Tokyo Tapes
Country: US
Genre: Rock
Style:Prog Rock
Released: 2001
MP3 album szie: 1295 mb
FLAC album size: 1473 mb

The Tokyo Tapes is a live Steve Hackett album featuring a progressive rock supergroup lineup of John Wetton from King Crimson, UK and Asia; Chester Thompson from Weather Report, Frank Zappa and Genesis live; Ian McDonald, also from Crimson, and Foreigner; and rounded out by keyboards man Julian Colbeck (worked with Yes spin-off Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe). The album was compiled from two concerts at Koseinenkin Hall in Tokyo, Japan on December 16 & 17, 1996. The album also contains two Steve Hackett studio tracks.

Darktown is the 14th studio album from British Musician Steve Hackett, released in 1999. It was reissued in 2013 with 3 bonus tracks. On some copies of this reissue, the title was mis-spelt as "Darktwon" on the sides of the CD case. Darktown is the last album to feature Julian Colbeck as a keyboardist, on the title track only. Colbeck had played with Hackett for much of the 1990s.

Steve Hackett's Tokyo Tapes is a concert video featuring him and a slew of his former colleagues in all of his years of work. The colleagues in question are John Wetton (ex-King Crimson, ex-Asia), Ian McDonald (ex-King Crimson), Chester Thompson (ex-Frank Zappa, Genesis), and Julian Colbeck (Steve Hackett). It sets the mood of the album wonderfully and while there isn't a great visual offering in the vein of Gabriel, it's rather fun watching Hackett and the rest of the group perform. You'll find some great extended and modified pieces in Firth of Fifth and Camino Royale, the first getting the Watcher of the Skies: Genesis Revisited middle section that really has nothing to do with the song itself, and the latter getting an extensive Hackett harmonica solo. The first cover song of the night is Battlelines off of John Wetton's solo album of the same name.

Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals – Steve Hackett. Keyboards, Vocals – Julian Colbeck. Producer – Steve Hackett. Issued in a replica mini-LP paper sleeve with obi strip, booklet in English and insert in Japanese. The Tokyo Tapes ‎(CD + CD, Enh + Album).

CD & DVD - Cleopatra. Soon after completing work on Watcher of the Skies, Steve Hackett conceived of a series of concerts involving many of the musicians from the Genesis project, to be recorded for a special live release. This two-disc set from a December 1996 performance in Tokyo is the end result. The band personnel look like potential candidates for a Prog Rockers: Where Are They Now? TV special, with Hackett joined by John Wetton (formerly of Asia), Ian McDonald (King Crimson), and Chester Thompson and Julian Colbeck (touring alum of Genesis and Yes, respectively)

The Tokyo Tapes - Студийный альбом от Steve Hackett. В альбом вошло 45 треков. Продолжительность альбома: 04:13:11. In That Quiet Earth. Riding the Colossus.

Modifier l'album Reporter une erreur. Progressif Symphonique Steve Hackett. Liste des groupes Progressif Symphonique Steve Hackett The Tokyo Tapes. ajouter les paroles de l'album. Ajouter un fichier audio. Nom du groupe Steve Hackett. Nom de l'album The Tokyo Tapes. Date de parution 1998. Labels Camino Records. Style MusicalProgressif Symphonique. Membres possèdant cet album5. DISC 1. 1. Watcher of the Skies.

The Tokyo Tapes is ex-Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett's live album featuring a progressive rock supergroup line-up of John Wetton (from King Crimson, UK, Asia), Chester Thompson (from Weather Report, Frank Zappa, Genesis live), Ian McDonald (from King Crimson, Foreigner) and rounded out by keyboardist Julian Colbeck (worked with Hackett and with Yes spin-off Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe). The album was compiled from two concerts at Koseinenkin Hall in Tokyo, Japan on 16 & 17 December 1996. The album also contains two Steve Hackett studio tracks


1 Watcher Of The Skies
2 Riding The Colossus
3 Firth Of Fifth
4 Battlelines
5 Camino Royale
6 The Court Of The Crimson King
7 Horizons
8 Walking Away From Rainbows
9 Heat Of The Moment
10 In That Quiet Earth
11 Vampyre With A Healthy Apetite
12 I Talk To The Wind
13 Shadow Of The Hierophant
14 Los Endos
15 Black Light
16 The Steppes
17 I Know What I Like


  • Bass – John Wetton
  • Drums – Chester Thompson
  • Flute – Ian McDonald
  • Guitar – Ian McDonald, John Wetton, Steve Hackett
  • Harmonica – Steve Hackett
  • Keyboards – Ian McDonald, Julian Colbeck
  • Saxophone – Ian McDonald
  • Vocals – Ian McDonald, John Wetton, Julian Colbeck, Steve Hackett


Plus eighteen minutes of bonus rehearsal footage and band biographies.
No booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 035043 801524

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
1 5567 2 Steve Hackett The Tokyo Tapes ‎(CD + CD, Enh + Album) Original Masters 1 5567 2 US 1999
DR-3996 Steve Hackett The Tokyo Tapes ‎(DVD-V, NTSC) Music Video Distributors DR-3996 Canada Unknown
VALJ-1042 Steve Hackett Live In Japan ‎(Laserdisc, 12", NTSC, CLV) VideoArts VALJ-1042 Japan 1997
TECW-38671~2 Steve Hackett The Tokyo Tapes ‎(2xCD, Album) Camino Records TECW-38671~2 Japan 1998
SHCD 06001904 Steve Hackett The Tokyo Tapes Volume One ‎(CD, Enh) SH Records SHCD 06001904 Russia 2000